Home > Uncategorized > Cornel West as prophet

Cornel West as prophet

I have to thank my friend Jo for sending me the link to this interview.

Cornel West, as he does so well, speaks the truth to power.  It strikes me as an extraordinary example of biblical prophecy in the contemporary world.  I am moved by the unapologetic, deeply nuanced, and yet crystal clear preferential option for the poor:

 

  1. Katie
    March 31, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    this is great. thanks so much for posting. I am struck by the reporter’s description of the (increasingly) unjust nature of US society. I don’t think I have ever heard us described so honestly and devoid of euphemisms in any mainstream outlet.

    I especially love his calling BS on Obama’s claim that his election would have been possible ONLYin the US. I think this type of discrediting of american exceptionalism needs to be heard more often.

    I also love his suspicion of Obama’s motives with respect to Libya.

  2. Katie
    March 31, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    and his point about partisanship as a way into bipartisanship is BRILLIANT. I had never thought of that before. Sounds somewhat analogous to the mindset needed to enter into ecumenical and interreligious dialogue.

    It really seems like his critique of Obama has intensified as of late.

  1. March 31, 2011 at 6:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

